2023 BolognaRagazzi Award Jury

A jury of experts identifies the best publishing projects considering their technical elements, artistic merit and the achieved delicate balance between text and images



Doris Breitmoser

Doris Breitmoser (Germany) was born in 1971, studied at the universities of Passau, Germany, and Parma, Italy, and completed a MA degree in International Cultural and Business Studies at the University of Passau. She began her career in a publishing house and has been employed since 1997 at the head office of the German umbrella organization, the Association for Children’s Literature/Arbeitskreis für Jugendliteratur (AKJ), in Munich. In 2003 she became the managing director of AKJ. She is co-editor of the quarterly children’s literature magazine JuLit and a member of the IBBY Executive Committee at the International Board on Books for Young People. 

Read more


Riccardo Falcinelli

Riccardo Falcinelli (Rome, 1973) is a graphic designer and best-selling author. For over twenty years he has been creative director for the major Italian and foreign publishing houses, including Einaudi, Harper Collins, Laterza, Zanichelli, Disney. Since 2012 he has been teaching "Psychology of perception" at Isia Roma Design. He has published several essays on the relationship between design and visual perception including: Critica portatile al visual design (Einaudi, 2014); Chromorama (Einaudi, 2017) and Figure (Einaudi, 2020). His books are translated into English, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Korean and Japanese 

Read more


Orna Granot

Curator, researcher, and lecturer specializing in the history of illustration as well as the history of children’s illustrated books. Associate curator of illustrated children’s books, Head of the Illustration Library, a unique international collection organized by the name of the illustrator, located as part of the Ruth Youth wing of art education, the Israel museum, Jerusalem. Curator of numerous art & illustration exhibitions. Lecturer at Bezalel art academy as well as Shenkar college of art and design. Chair of the jury of Israel museum illustration award. Served as a judge on the 2021 Biennale of Illustrations Bratislava. Holds a MA in children’s literature, Simmons university Boston and a BA in History of art & Education, Hebrew university, Jerusalem.  

Read more

S. McLinn

Claudette S. McLinn

Claudette S. McLinn is the founder and executive director of the Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature (CSMCL.org). She is a retired District Supervising Librarian in Library Services for the Los Angeles Unified School District with over 34 years of experience as a teacher, librarian, and administrator in elementary and secondary education. She was the owner of a children's bookstore for over 20 years. She was also an Adjunct Professor at California State University, Long Beach where she taught graduate courses in children’s literature and young adult literature with a focus on multicultural literature. She has been active in the American Library Association (ALA), including serving on the Newbery, Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpré (as chair), and Caldecott Award Committees. She was an inaugural member of the Kirkus Prize Committee for Young Reader's Literature and judge for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature. Since 2011, McLinn created the CSMCL Día Grant with an African America Focus, which is funded by CSMCL in partnership with the ALA/Association of Library Services to Children (ALSC) and author Pat Mora, the founder of Children’s Day, Book Day/ El día de los niños, El día de los libros; often known as Día.


McLinn received her Doctor of Education degree in Organizational Leadership and Master of Science degree in School Administration and Management from Pepperdine University. She also received her Master of Science Degree in Library and Information Science from Wayne State University. She is a member of the Graduate School of Education and Psychology's Board of Visitors at Pepperdine University.


McLinn currently chaired the 2022 Caldecott Medal Award Committee and presently serves as Board member of USBBY. She is past executive chair of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee and past chair of the Coretta Scott King 50th Anniversary Celebration Planning Committee.  She has received numerous awards including the 2014 Dorothy C. McKenzie Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Field of Children's Literature presented by the Children's Literature Council of Southern California; 2015 BCALA Appreciation Award; 2020 recipient of the ALA/Association of Library Service to Children (ALSC) Distinguished Service Award; and 2022 Charlotte S. Huck Endowed Speaker Award sponsored by the Charlotte S. Huck Foundation, University of Redlands (California).  

Read more

Related Articles